How changes in NOC affect Express Entry candidates

How changes in NOC affect Express Entry candidates

Canada’s immigration department is soon planning to switch to the 2021 version of the National Occupational Classification (NOC) system from November 16, 2022 onwards. The new NOC list will change eligibility for Canada’s immigration pathways including Express Entry.

Currently, you need work experience under NOC skill types 0, A, or B, to be eligible under Express Entry. This list aligns with the NOC 2016. After the update, IRCC will look to the new Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities (TEER) system to determine work experience eligibility.

The following table shows how NOC 2016 skill types compare to TEER categories.

NOC 2016 NOC 2021
Skill Type 0 TEER 0
Skill Level ATEER 1
Skill Level BTEER 2
Skill Level BTEER 3
Skill Level CTEER 4
Skill Level DTEER 5

Instructions for Express Entry candidates

The IRCC web page offers detailed instructions to applicants. This information is particularly important for those who have submitted their profiles but have not received an Invitation to Apply (ITA) as you have to update your profile according to the new list on or after November 16, 2022. 

For this, you first need to search the NOC 2021 list and then update your profile with your TEER Category and five-digit occupation code.

Updated NOC 2021 eligibility criteria for Express Entry

Eligibility criteriaCanadian Experience ClassFederal Skilled Worker ProgramFederal Skilled Trades Program
English or French skillsCLB 7 for TEER 0 or TEER 1 occupations; CLB 5 for TEER 2 or TEER 3 occupationsCLB 7CLB 5 for speaking and listening; CLB 4 for reading and writing
Type/Level of work experienceCanadian work experience in an occupation listed in one or more of these NOC TEER Categories: TEER 0, TEER 1, TEER 2, or TEER 3.Work experience in an occupation listed in one of these NOC TEER Categories: TEER 0, TEER 1, TEER 2, or TEER 3.Work experience in a skilled trade under key groups of TEER 2 or TEER 3.*
Amount of work experienceOne year in Canada in the last three years (either combination of full-time or part-time work).One year continuous within the last 10 years (combination of part-time, full-time or more than one job in your primary occupation).Two years within last five years (either combination of full-time or part-time work)
Job offerNot required.Not required but you can get selection criteria (FSW) points for having a valid job offer.A valid job offer of full-time employment for a total period of at least one year or a certificate of qualification in that skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial, territorial or federal authority.
EducationNot required.Secondary education required. You can get more selection criteria (FSW) points for your post-secondary education.Not required.

CRS implications

The points for arranged employment will now follow the Skill Type/Level update chart, that is if your CRS points were 50 for arranged employment in Skill Type/Level 0, A or B, you will still get those points if your NOC is in TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3.

Federal Skilled Worker Program selection factor points

Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) will follow the Skill Type/Level update chart meaning if you would have received 10 points for arranged employment in Skill Type/Level 0, A or B, you will still get those points for arranged employment in TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3.

Which occupations will be affected?

A total of 16 occupations will now become eligible for Express Entry, and three will become ineligible.

The following occupations will become eligible under Express Entry starting November 16:

  1. Payroll administrators;
  2. Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants;
  3. Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates;
  4. Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants;
  5. Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants;
  6. Sheriffs and bailiffs;
  7. Correctional service officers;
  8. By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers;
  9. Estheticians, electrologists and related occupations;
  10. Residential and commercial installers and servicers;
  11. Pest controllers and fumigators;
  12. Other repairers and servicers;
  13. Transport truck drivers;
  14. Bus drivers, subway operators and other transit operators;
  15. Heavy equipment operators; and
  16. Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors.

The three occupations that will become ineligible include:

  1. other performers;
  2. program leaders and instructors in recreation, sport and fitness; and
  3. tailors, dressmakers, furriers and milliners.

Please note: These three occupations will remain eligible for some streams of the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP). So in case you fall in any of these categories, it is a good idea to get in touch with a Licensed Immigration Consultant and seek  expert advice before proceeding further. 

Let us help you migrate to Canada 

Keel’s team of expert Licensed Canadian Immigration Consultants can help you figure out everything you need to know about various Canada immigration pathways. Our streamlined immigration services will take care of the entire process from the day you decide to change your life until settling in Canada. 

Schedule your call today, let’s make your Canada dream a reality.

Click here to book your consultation.

We are here to make your Canada Immigration Journey Possible